Continental Divide Trail

posted in: Articles | 0

The Continental Divide Trail is a footpath running 3,100 miles (5,000 km) through the United States of America between Mexico and Canada. It follows the Continental Divide along the Rocky Mountains and traverses five U.S. states – Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, and New Mexico. In Montana it crosses Triple Divide Peak which separates the Hudson Bay, Atlantic Ocean and Pacific Ocean drainages.

As of 2004, the trail, a combination of dedicated trails and small roads, is considered 70% complete. The uncompleted portions of the trail must be traveled by bushwhacking or roadwalking.

Only about two dozen people a year attempt to hike the entire trail, taking about six months to complete it.

The Continental Divide Trail along with the Appalachian Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail form the Triple Crown of long distance hiking

View a list of Hiking Trails and Trail Systems.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.